Kosher (High Holiday) wines were not made to get you toasted.

For my “Kosher” friends with the High Holidays approaching. This is in no way intended to advertise the drinking of alcohol of which some of our brothers and sisters struggle with in all races and countries. Our Father forbids it. In fact, this proves that we are not to get ‘drunk’ on alcohol. Even Rabbi’s of old forbid it. Once it becomes an addiction we should repent of it and stop using it as a crutch as “having something to do to keep from being bored” or “everyone has to die from something” syndrome.

🔯 🕎 ✡️ 🍇

The image of kosher wines, until recently, has been very close to the wine I rejected in my youth. The traditional, virtually undrinkable jug of Mogen David or Manischewitz will always be available for those who want it, but I am happy to report that kosher wines do not have to be the product of God in His or Her wrathful phase; I no longer feel as though I am atoning for serious sins when I taste them.
The best “new” kosher wines are great wines that just happen to be kosher, and producers from the United States, Italy, Spain, France, Australia, Chile and, of course, Israel allow wine lovers of all religious persuasions — including those who worship only Bacchus — to enjoy without suffering, without guilt (a big step forward for anyone who was raised in a traditional Jewish home, where guilt is a dish best served either hot or cold, but repeatedly).
So what makes a wine kosher? Most Conservative and Reform Jews believe that all wines — like all fruits — are kosher inherently. But this interpretation flies in the face of Orthodox Jewish law and custom, which includes the following rules:

As with all kosher food products, the wine must be made under the general supervision of a rabbi who must be licensed to perform such duties.
All equipment must be used to produce only kosher wines. If a wine is certified as “kosher for Passover,” equipment and machinery must undergo a special cleaning procedure and can be used only for that purpose.
Any yeasts, filtering agents, or clarifying agents must be certified as kosher. Since no milk or gelatin can be used for clarification, the overwhelming majority of kosher wines are clarified with Bentonite clay or Diatomaceous earth (and are therefore vegan-friendly).
No artificial coloring or preservatives can be used.
Unless the wine has gone through a pasteurization process known as “Mevushal,” only Sabbath-observant Jews can be involved in the growing of the grapes, the winemaking process, the service of the wine, and the consumption of the wine, although in practice many don’t observe this rule.
“Mevushal,” which in Hebrew means “boiled,” is actually a flash heating and cooling process that is perhaps as much ritual as it is science, and harkens back to the origins of Judaism itself. The most revered rabbis insisted that all wine must be boiled so that the wines would not taste good enough to enjoy for pleasure; just barely good enough to drink to observe the sacraments of faith (again with the guilt!).
Happily, today, the process calls for the juice or wine to be heated to 185ºF for just a few moments, and then cooled very quickly. According to the University of California at Davis, Mevushal wines do not even come close to the time and temperature threshold at which a wine drinker can perceive any difference in color, nose or taste of the wine.
Taken from


Hab 2:15  Woe unto him that giveth his neighbour drink, that puttest thy bottle to him, and makest him drunken also, that thou mayest look on their nakedness!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.